About Speed Post
Home >Pin Code

Pin Code

A six digit number given to a specific post office by the Indian Post Department is named as Postal Index Number or the PIN code number. The procedure of giving a PIN code number to the Post office came into existence since 15th August 1972. These have been divided into 9 different PIN regions all around the country out of which 8 types have been given as per the geographical region while the remaining one is allotted specifically for Army Postal services. The six digits can be said as the first digit for region, next two for sub-region and remaining 3 indicates the delivery post office.

First 2 Digits of PIN  Circle
11 Delhi
12 and 13 Haryana
14 to 16 Punjab
17 Himachal Pradesh
18 to 19 Jammu & Kashmir
20 to 28 Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal
30 to 34 Rajasthan
36 to 39 Gujarat
40 to 44 Maharashtra
45 to 49 Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh
50 to 53 Andhra Pradesh
56 to 59 Karnataka
60 to 64 Tamil Nadu
67 to 69 Kerala
70 to 74 West Bengal
75 to 77 Orissa
78 Assam
79 North Eastern
80 to 85 Bihar and Jharkand
90 to 99 Army Postal Service (APS)


Bookmark and Share
© The content published on the website is owned and copyrighted. The content may published only post prior permissions.